Home > Health Care Policy, Obamacare > Health Insurance Prices

Health Insurance Prices

Two events occurred this week which got me to thinking about health insurance prices.  One was that, by chance, I saw a film clip of Barack Obama campaigning for election, promising that if his health insurance ideas were implemented, health insurance for families would decline by $2500 per year (here is a link to a Youtube video of these claims). Second, the November 2012 issue of Consumer Reports arrived and, in this issue, there is an article about the changes to health insurance that will be brought about by Obamacare. This article lays out the changes to health insurance that have already occurred and those that will occur in the future as a result of Obamacare. Both of these events suggest the need to use economic theory to decide if health insurance will get cheaper or more expensive and they suggest the need to get some empirical evidence on health insurance policy prices.

First to the empirical evidence. The Kaiser Family Foundation regularly conducts surveys of the cost of health insurance. A summary of their most recent findings is that in 2012, insurance for a single individual averages $5429 and family coverage averages $15073. These figures reflect increases of 3% and 4% respectively over their levels in 2011. But the more remarkable finding is that family coverage has increased by 97% since 2002. There is no evidence that I can find in the latest survey indicating a decline in health insurance prices. Since 2002, the price of health insurance has risen faster than wages and prices measured over the same time period.

One might respond to this evidence by saying that most of the changes to health insurance have not yet been implemented so that this empirical evidence is misleading. That is not an unfair point so we might ask what changes have yet to occur and what will these future changes do to the price of health insurance? The Consumer Reports issue lists the changes that will occur in 2014. They include: guaranteed issue, and an inability to price health insurance on the basis of health.

I have written previously that guaranteed issue will raise the price of health insurance because of the possibility of adverse selection (see An Analysis of Obamacare Part I: Guaranteed Issue). But the inability to price health risk will also raise the price of health insurance as a simple example will illustrate.

The crucial feature of insurance markets is what economists call asymmetric information. When someone applies for health insurance, the buyer knows his or her health condition but the insurance company does not. This explains why insurance companies would require health examinations, a form of screening designed to establish the health condition of the buyer. There is no point to screening applicants if you can’t price the risks inherent in the buyer. If you were running an insurance company, what would you do?

You could price insurance as though all buyers were good risks but what if the buyers are bad risks? You risk bankruptcy if you do this. Thus the safe strategy is to price all health insurance policies as though the buyers are bad risks. That is the safest strategy that the insurance company can pursue. Thus by preventing health risk screening, good risks will pay prices as though they are bad risks. Thus averaging across individuals, health insurance prices will be higher than otherwise.

Overall, one would need to conclude that the promises of Barack Obama will not materialize. Health insurance has not declined in price and there is no reason to think that it will in the future.

  1. December 7, 2012 at 8:23 AM

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

  2. December 22, 2012 at 11:09 PM

    Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

  3. January 8, 2013 at 1:23 AM

    You have made some good points there. I looked on the web for additional information about the issue and found
    most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  4. January 8, 2013 at 11:27 AM

    Attractive component to content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing in your augment and
    even I success you get entry to persistently rapidly.

  5. January 8, 2013 at 3:22 PM

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be
    bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  6. January 9, 2013 at 12:37 PM

    Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this site, and paragraph is really fruitful for me, keep up posting these types of content.

  7. January 13, 2013 at 9:59 PM

    Thanks in support of sharing such a nice thought, piece of
    writing is pleasant, thats why i have read it completely

  8. January 16, 2013 at 8:22 PM

    Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next write ups
    thanks once again.

  9. April 8, 2013 at 8:28 AM

    Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely think this site needs much more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

  10. April 8, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your web site offered us with helpful info to work on.
    You have performed an impressive activity and our entire neighborhood will
    probably be thankful to you.

  11. April 21, 2013 at 2:51 AM

    An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do believe that you ought to write more about
    this issue, it may not be a taboo subject but generally people don’t speak about these issues. To the next! Cheers!!

  12. April 21, 2013 at 5:29 AM

    I like the valuable information you provide in your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  13. April 22, 2013 at 1:05 AM

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  14. April 23, 2013 at 8:27 PM

    I do not comment, however I read a few of the remarks on Health Insurance Prices | Just My Two Cents About Economic Policy – Robert
    J. Rossana. I do have some questions for
    you if you don’t mind. Is it only me or do a few of these comments come across like they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I’d
    like to follow you. Could you post a list
    of every one of your public sites like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • April 24, 2013 at 11:17 AM

      No comment on the quality of replies.;-) I don’t write on other outlets (it is hard enough to do the two that I have). What other sites do you follow? I might check them out.

  15. April 25, 2013 at 10:55 AM

    It’s awesome to pay a quick visit this site and reading the views of all mates regarding this article, while I am also keen of getting experience.

  16. April 29, 2013 at 1:57 AM

    Hello there! This post could not be written much better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He always kept talking about this. I will send this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

  17. May 11, 2013 at 5:30 AM

    Appreciating the commitment you put into your blog and in depth information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.

    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  18. May 17, 2013 at 1:05 AM

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post
    posted at this web site is really good.

  19. June 15, 2013 at 9:55 PM

    Greetings! I’ve been reading your site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  20. August 7, 2013 at 6:24 AM

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very
    well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  21. August 7, 2013 at 1:04 PM

    Wonderful article! We will be linking to this great article on our website.
    Keep up the great writing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Economics One

A blog by John B. Taylor

The Grumpy Economist

One economist's views on economic policy.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

